Walzin Castle, Dinant – Belgium
The Walzin Castle was built on a rock above the river Les.
Walzin Castle is one of the largest castles in Belgium, it was built in the 11th century by the Bishop of Liege Ditvin (Theoduin) of Bavaria as an observation and defensive point. Since the owners of the castle held important posts and constantly participated in military conflicts, the fortress was often besieged, captured and destroyed.
At the end of the 16th century, the next owner of the estate restored the destroyed buildings and expanded the castle. During the French Revolution, Walzin suffered greatly, all archives were destroyed. The castle was restored twice: the first time in 1881 (architect Emile Jeanlet) and in 1930-1932 (Olivier Flanneau). After the restoration work, the fortress acquired the romantic look that is now widely known.
The author of the Brussels Botanical Garden project Louis-Julien Breidel worked on the planning of the gardens.
Now Walzin Castle is owned by the Count and Countess de Limburg-Stirum, direct descendants of Henry IV the Duke of Limburg and Guillaume de la Marc, nicknamed the Ardennes Boar.
Because of the inspiring romantic appearance that is displayed in works of art and literature, Walzin is sometimes called the “Belgian Neuschwanstein”. The castle can only be admired from afar, as access to it is closed.
History of Walzin Castle
Waltzin Castle is a castle in Belgium in the province of Namur above the river Lesse near Dinant . Construction began in the 13th century, and the 15th century Renaissance horseshoe tower with four cannon ports still exists, although the castle was burned down by the French army in 1554. Later there were several restorations, the last of which was carried out by Baron Frederick Brugman in 1930. and 1932. Victor Hugo painted it in 1863.